The History of our Property:
Oak Farm Vineyards, located at the end of DeVries Road, was home to William DeVries and his wife Cornelia Crowe. William purchased the property in 1860, and at the time, the area was called "Elkhorn Township", DeVries was a well wheat farmer and raised cattle, he even became Justice of the Peace and was responsible for enforcing the law.
The ranch was known throughout the San Joaquin Valley as one of the most magnificent and beautiful pieces of property within the state.
DeVries was an enthusiastic lover of trees, particularly of oaks, and on the home ranch, he never allowed a tree to be cut unless it was a menace, newspapers reported upon his death. The beautiful colonial style home was built by William and his second wife Mary Jane in 1876.
While farming was William's trade, his son Marion took a different path. He took a more collegiate route, he ended up being a congressman, a judge, and a legal authority on wine regulations in the 1930's.
Today, many of the property’s enormous oaks still stand and 60 acres of our estate vineyards are harvested each year, but it’s the fantastic winery and tasting room that's worth the short drive from the center of Lodi. Varietals grown on the property include: Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Verdelho, Malbec, Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, Primitivo, Petite Sirah, Petite Verdot, Sangiovese and Barbera.
The property has been largely renovated with great attention to it;s heritage. Oak Farm Vineyards has an oasis in the country and our guests will appreciate the trip to experience it.